The Kellogg Fellows Leadership Alliance Matusak Courageous Leadership Award is sponsored by Larraine Matusak, former Leadership Scholar at the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and director of the Kellogg National Fellowship Program. Along with other traits, the Award recognizes those who are "creative risk takers, driven by sound judgment, common sense and a profound sense of responsibility, honesty, and trust."

The Award

Matusak Courageous Leadership Award recipients are given a cash award of $3,000 to be used to further their work. Nominations are open to the KFLA global network of fellows.

The 2016 Award was presented at Forum 2016: Building a Future Where Children Thrive in October of 2016.


Larraine Matusak

Dr. Larraine R Matusak

As a former Leadership Scholar at the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and Director of the Kellogg National Fellowship Program, Dr. Larraine Matusak is an experienced scholar and practitioner of leadership and she has held a wide variety of leadership roles.

Dr. Matusak introduced this award to recognize and reward those individuals who boldly take a risk to stand up for what is right and just; who work for the common good; who are willing to take an unpopular stand even if doing so may jeopardize their jobs, cast them in an unpopular light or even cause them to lose friends. They are willing to act authentically and speak up when silence would mean colluding with the problem, and they boldly take actions that tangibly improve the human condition.