Open for Nominations Until August 1

Did you ever stand back in awe of someone who at great risk stands up for what is right and good? Did you admire their courage? The Matusak Courageous Leadership Award was initiated to recognize individuals who have displayed a passion for the common good and a commitment to principles greater than just themselves. The kind of courage that once exhibited galvanizes others to action.

The award and $3000 prize will be presented at KFLA’s Forum 2016 in Denver.

Dr. Larraine R. Matusak is an experienced scholar and practitioner of leadership in a wide variety or organizational and community roles. Recently she was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award for Scholarship and Leadership by the International Leadership Association in Barcelona, Spain.

Dr. Matusak introduced this award to recognize and reward those individuals who courageously take a risk for what is right and just; who work for the common good; who are willing to take an unpopular stand even if doing so may jeopardize their jobs, cast them in an unpopular light or even cause them to lose friends. They have the courage to act authentically and speak up when silence would mean colluding with the problem, and they boldly take actions that tangibly improve the human condition. In the words of Eleanor Roosevelt, “You must look fear in the face and do the thing you think you cannot do.”

Nomination deadline is on August 1, 2016. A Kellogg Fellow must submit the nomination, but they may nominate any deserving individual from anywhere around the world.

Nominate a Courageous Leader

Deadline: Aug 1, 2016

Nancy Guarneros

Nancy Guarneros

Nancy Guarneros, graduate of UCLA and a founder of Graduates Reaching a Dream Deferred (GRADD), recieved the 2012 Matusak Courageous Leadership Award for her work speaking out on behalf of undocumented immigrant students, while risking arrest and deportation.

Read More

Susan Sygall

Susan Sygall

Susan Sygall, executive director of Mobility International USA, recieved the 2011 Matusak Courageous Leadership Award for her leading role as an advocate for the rights of persons with disabilities.

Read More

Pablo Alvarado

Pablo Alvarado

Pablo Alvarado, an immigrant from El Salvador, is the national coordinator/founder of the national Day Laborer Organizing Network (NDLON). He received the 2014 Matusak Courageous Leadership Award for his work with local governments to help establish worker centers providing day laborers who are seeking jobs honest places of safety and employment.

Read More


Director's Letter
Director Martha Lee invites you to help advance this year's child-centered agenda

Program Opportunities at a Glance
Request information or register for our exciting, new programs

Meet the Author (Webinars Series)
Authors, lecturers, and social innovators from every genre imaginable host a series of live online discussions with you

Matusak Award Nominations Open March 1
The Matusak Courageous Leadership Award of $3,000 will be presented to an individaul who exemplifies courageous leadership.

Second Annual Day of Gratitude
KFLA invites Kellogg Fellows to join us in celebrating Mr. Kellogg’s birthday and acknowledging his legacy

Macaw Press
Want to publish your monograph, article, ebook, etc? Join us on our new partnership with Macaw Press

UN Meeting Update
On November 17th 2015, Kellogg Fellows joined the Executive Director of UN Women to discuss ways KFLA could help work towards gender equality